Skip links and keyboard navigation

First World War Honour Board


Place Details
Place ID 600117
Registration Type State Heritage
Place Name First World War Honour Board
Place Classification Built
Place Category Monuments and Memorials
Place Type Memorial/Monument
Themes 8 Creating social and cultural institutions / 8.6 Commemorating significant events
Register Entry Date 21/10/1992

Location
Address 142 George Street
Town / Suburb BRISBANE CITY
Post Code 4000
LGA BRISBANE CITY COUNCIL

Cultural Heritage Significance
Principal Period
of Significance
1917 (fabric) 1917- (historical, social)
Criterion A As a unique record in Queensland of participation and sacrifice in the First World War. For its material richness, fine craftsmanship and unique design amongst Queensland war memorials. As the only identified public work of local Brisbane wood carver GV Boyce.
Criterion B As a unique record in Queensland of participation and sacrifice in the First World War.
Criterion E For its material richness, fine craftsmanship and unique design amongst Queensland war memorials.
Criterion F For its material richness, fine craftsmanship and unique design amongst Queensland war memorials.
Criterion H As the only identified public work of local Brisbane wood carver GV Boyce.

History
History The First World War Honour Board was erected by employees of the Queensland Lands Department in 1917, as a tribute to fellow staff on active service. The overall design was created by AR McKellar, a draftsman in the lithographic branch of the survey section. The affixed metal plaque was designed by AV Thomas, the officer in charge of the lithographic branch. Manufacture was carried out at the Queensland Government railway workshops at Ipswich, and the wood carving was crafted by noted local wood carver George Varley Boyce, who taught carving at Brisbane technical schools from c.1902 to 1916. The honour board was unveiled by the then governor of Queensland, Sir Hamilton Goold-Adams, on 2 May 1917. It remains a focus for Anzac commemoration, with wreaths being laid before the honour board each April 25. The board was restored by the Lands Department in 1981.

Description
Description The honour board is affixed to the wall of the main corridor on the first floor of the Lands Administration Building in Brisbane, immediately opposite the George Street elevator. It is a large honour board, 2 metres high by 2.5 metres wide, constructed of Queensland silky oak. A central panel of red bean bears the Queensland coat of arms and the gold-painted names of 94 departmental staff and authorised surveyors who served in the First World War. The surrounds are carved in a stippled pattern with lotus plants (an ancient symbol of sleep) in relief in the lower section. The latter rarely appear on Queensland war memorials. Within a rich moulding of laurel leaves in the upper left hand corner is an oval shaped metal plaque depicting in bas relief a cavalry charge and infantry soldiers advancing in battle, intended to illustrate the different fighting units in action. A carved scroll unfolds from the plaque and bears the relief lettering Roll of Honour. The whole board is set into a simple frame.

Element
Element Name First World War Honour Board
Designer Name McKellar, AR
Design Period 1914 - 1919 World War I
Builder Name Boyce, George Varley
Construction Period 1917 - 1917
Fabric (Exterior Structure) Timber
Place Components Memorial - honour board/ roll of honour

Images and Maps
Images
Maps Create a Web Map



Information about places in the Queensland Heritage Register is maintained by the Department of Environment and Heritage Protection (EHP) under the Queensland Heritage Act 1992. Information available here is only part of the full Register entry and should not be taken as an official entry. Absence does not mean a particular place is not in the Register.

Certified copies of the full entries in the Register are available for a fee.

You can also search the full Register for a fee to find out if a place or parcel of land is listed or otherwise affected by the Act.

Last updated: 15 March 2013

Heritage Search Options